SA20 2024 player auction to take place in Johannesburg on September 27

SA20 teams given R39.1 million salary purse to build their squads

The SA20 player auction for the 2024 season will take place in Johannesburg on September 27. Each team will have a purse of R39.1 million (USD 2.1 million approx), an increase of R5.1 million (US$ 274,000 approx) from the last time.

On the auction day, 21 slots are to be filled – six of those reserved for rookie players. A rookie player is someone who is a South African, is aged 22 or under, and has not played SA20 before.

In a squad of 19, each team is required to have a minimum of ten South African players, a maximum of seven international players and an additional new rookie player.

“Season 2 of the Betway SA20 is shaping up to be another spectacular showcase of world-class cricket and entertainment,” Graeme Smith, the SA20 league commissioner, said in a press release. “The quality of the players already included in the squads, including a few newcomers, is testimony to the success of the inaugural season. Our planning is on track and we look forward to the auction and welcoming players and fans in Season 2.”

Here’s how the squads line up.

Durban’s Super Giants

Squad: Prenelan Subrayen, Quinton de Kock, Dwaine Pretorius, Keshav Maharaj, Kyle Abbott, Heinrich Klaasen, JJ Smuts, Wiaan Mulder, Matthew Breetzke, Junior Dala, Keemo Paul, Naveen-ul-Haq, Kyle Mayers, Reece Topley, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Dilshan Madushanka

Slots to be filled: 3
Purse available: R1.675 million

Joburg Super Kings

Squad: Gerald Coetzee, Faf du Plessis, Reeza Hendricks, Lizaad Williams, Nandre Burger, Moeen Ali, David Wiese, Zahir Khan, Sam Cook, Leus du Plooy, Donovan Ferreira, Aaron Phangiso, Sibonelo Makhanya, Kyle Simmonds

Slots to be filled: 5
Purse available: R6.1 million

MI Cape Town

Squad: Dewald Brevis, Kagiso Rabada, Rassie van der Dussen, Delano Potgieter, Ryan Rickelton, George Linde, Beuran Hendricks, Duan Jansen, Grant Roelofsen, Jofra Archer, Rashid Khan, Sam Curran, Liam Livingstone, Tom Banton, Olly Stone

Slots to be filled: 4
Purse available: R5.05 million

Paarl Royals

Squad: Kwena Maphaka, David Miller, Tabraiz Shamsi, Lungi Ngidi, Andile Phehlukwayo, Dane Vilas, Bjorn Fortuin, Mitchell Van Buuren, Wihan Lubbe, Ferisco Adams, Codi Yusuf, Evan Jones, Jos Buttler, Obed McCoy, Jason Roy

Slots to be filled: 4
Purse available: R8.865 million

Pretoria Capitals

Squad: Migael Pretorius, Anrich Nortje, Rilee Rossouw, Colin Ingram, Senuran Muthusamy, Wayne Parnell, Theunis de Bruyn, Eathan Bosch, Shane Dadswell, Corbin Bosch, Jimmy Neesham, Adil Rashid, William Jacks

Slots to be filled: 6
Purse available: R9.737 million

Sunrisers Eastern Cape

Squad: Ottniel Baartman, Aiden Markram, Marco Jansen, Tristan Stubbs, Sisanda Magala, Simon Harmer, Temba Bavuma, Sarel Erwee, Jordan Hermann, Aya Gqamane, Liam Dawson, Brydon Carse, Dawid Malan, Adam Rossington, Tom Abell, Craig Overton

Slots to be filled: 4
Purse available: R1.865 million

More to follow

Leave a Reply