REPORT: Monty William Voted Back-to-Back COY By Coaches Union

REPORT: Monty William Voted Back-to-Back COY By Coaches Union

Monty Williams was voted Coach of the Year for the second year in a row after leading the Suns to a League-best 64-18 regular-season record.

The award is named after former coaches executive director Michael H. Goldberg and is based on a vote tally from the NBA’s 30 head coaches.

Under the leadership of Williams, the Suns became the first team to exceed its win total by at least 11 games for three consecutive seasons. According to ESPN Stats and Information research, Phoenix joined the 1969-1970 Knicks as the only team to finish the regular season with a better road win percentage than every other team’s home win percentage in a season.

The Suns won a franchise-record 18-game winning streak and won nine straight games, three separate times. The Suns are 47-0 this season when leading after three-quarters, the best in the shot-clock era. Per ESPN Stats and Information, the only other teams that went undefeated after three-quarters were the 2017-2018 Cavs and the 2019-2020 Lakers.

The Suns finished the season top five in offensive and defensive efficiency, going 33-9 in clutch-time games, the best since the 2016 Warriors.

Other coaches who received votes were the Pelicans’ Willie Green, Grizzlies Coach Taylor Jenkins, Clippers Coach Ty Lue, Spurs Coach Gregg Popovich, and the Heats’ Erik Spoelstra, according to Woj.

Leave a Reply