Recent Match Report – U.A.E. vs Namibia 10th Match, First Round Group A 2022/23

Recent Match Report - U.A.E. vs Namibia 10th Match, First Round Group A 2022/23

Toss United Arab Emirates chose to bat v Namibia

“It’s all in our hands,” said Namibia captain Gerhard Erasmus at the toss after his team were asked to chase in a crucial Group A match. And it is. They will be bowling first after UAE captain Chundangapoyil Rizwan chose to bat after the coin flip.

Victory for Namibia will see them progress to the Super 12 as A1, which means they will be grouped with Australia, England, Afghanistan and New Zealand, and will leave Sri Lanka in a subcontinent heavy group with India, Pakistan, Bangladesh and South Africa.

If UAE are able to notch up their first T20 World Cup win, Namibia will return home, Sri Lanka will top Group A and Netherlands, who have won two matches in the group, will progress to the Super 12 as the second qualifier. Dutch captain Scott Edwards also said matters were in his team’s hands but they let it slip. Namibia, who walked this road last year, don’t want to do the same.

Namibia have been bolstered by the return of seamer Ruben Trumpelmann. He has recovered from the niggle that kept him out of the first two matches and has been installed into the attack. That necessitated a change to the batting line-up, with Divan la Cock dropping out and the other batters all moving up a place.

UAE made three changes to the team that lost to Sri Lanka and switched their batting order around. Chirag Suri and Aryan Lakra were left out, with Vriitya Aravind moving to open the batting and Rizwan carded to bat at No.3. Alishan Sharafu is in at No. 4 with room created in the lower order for Fahad Nawaz to debut. Ahmed Raza was brought in for Kashif Daud.

Namibia: 1 Michael van Lingen, 2 Stephan Baard, 3 Jan Nicol Loftie-Eaton, 4 Jan Frylinck, 5 Gerhard Erasmus (capt), 6 David Wiese, 7 JJ Smit, 8 Zane Green (wk) 9 Bernard Scholtz, 10 Ruben Trumpelmann, 11 Ben Shikongo.

UAE: 1 Muhammed Waseem, 2 Vriitya Aravind (wk) 3 Chundangapoyil Rizwan (capt), 4 Alishan Sharafu 5 Aayan Afzal Khan, 6 Basil Hameed, 7 Fahad Nawaz, 8 Karthik Meiyappan, 9 Ahmed Raza, 10 Junaid Siddique, 11 Zahoor Khan.

Leave a Reply