Recent Match Report – New Zealand vs India 3rd T20I 2022/23

Recent Match Report - New Zealand vs India 3rd T20I 2022/23

Toss New Zealand chose to bat vs India

Under overcast skies at McLean Park in Napier, New Zealand won the toss that was delayed by half an hour, and opted to bat in the final T20I against India.

Mark Chapman was a straight swap for Kane Williamson, who missed the game due to a medical appointment, and the hosts were led by Tim Southee. India added another seam-bowling option in Harshal Patel in place of Washington Sundar as their only change.

The pitch was under covers for more than a couple of hours owing to steady rain earlier in the day. The square boundaries in Napier were short while there were lumps of grass on the surface, which could come to the aid of the bowlers.

Hardik Pandya, India’s captain, said that key to playing in such short square dimensions was to not think much about them. “We keep that in mind but the skillsets that our batters and bowlers have, we don’t have to think much,” he said. “On a ground like this, you should not think much because there is little you can control.”

New Zealand: 1 Finn Allen, 2 Devon Conway (wk), 3 Mark Chapman, 4 Glenn Phillips, 5 Daryl Mitchell, 6 James Neesham, 7 Mitchell Santner, 8 Adam Milne, 9 Ish Sodhi, 10, Tim Southee (capt), 11 Lockie Ferguson

India: 1 Ishan Kishan, 2 Rishabh Pant (wk), 3 Suryakumar Yadav, 4 Shreyas Iyer, 5 Hardik Pandya (capt), 6 Deepak Hooda, 7 Bhuvneshwar Kumar, 8 Harshal Patel, 9 Arshdeep Singh, 10 Mohammed Siraj, 11 Yuzvendra Chahal

Leave a Reply