Recent Match Report – Ireland vs Bangladesh 2nd ODI 2020-2022/23

Recent Match Report - Ireland vs Bangladesh 2nd ODI 2020-2022/23

Toss Bangladesh chose to bowl vs Ireland

Bangladesh captain Tamim Iqbal decided to bowl first after winning the toss in the second ODI against Ireland in Chelmsford. Rain reduced the game to 45 overs a side, with start being delayed two hours and 15 minutes.

Both teams were unchanged, meaning Bangladesh again had a side with seven batters and six bowlers, including three pacers.

Ireland’s hopes for a direct World Cup place went up in smokes (or rain) after the first match was abandoned due to persistent rain. Bangladesh made 246 for 9 on the back of a fifty from Mushfiqur Rahim. Ireland were in a spot of bother at 65 for 3 in the 17th over when the downpour forced the players off.

The teams initially trained for a timely start only for rain to arrive a few minutes before the scheduled toss at 10:15am. The covers were eventually removed at 12pm local time, before the umpires decided to start at 1pm.

Ireland: 1 Stephen Doheny, 2 Paul Stirling, 3 Andy Balbirnie (capt), 4 Harry Tector, 5 Lorcan Tucker (wk), 6 Curtis Campher, 7 George Dockrell, 8 Andy McBrine, 9 Mark Adair, 10 Graham Hume, 11 Josh Little

Bangladesh: 1 Tamim Iqbal (capt), 2 Litton Das, 3 Najmul Hossain Shanto, 4 Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), 5 Shakib Al Hasan, 6 Towhid Hridoy, 7 Mehidy Hasan Miraz, 8 Shoriful Islam, 9 Ebadot Hossain, 10 Taijul Islam, 11 Hasan Mahmud

Leave a Reply