Recent Match Report – Australia vs Pakistan 3rd ODI 2021/22

Recent Match Report - Australia vs Pakistan 3rd ODI 2021/22

Jason Behrendorff has replaced Mitchell Swepson to strengthen the fast-bowling attack for Australia

Toss Pakistan chose to field against Australia

Pakistan have won the toss and will field first in the final – and decisive – ODI of the three-match series against Australia in Lahore. For the third time in a row, the coin fell Babar Azam’s way, and the Pakistan captain chose to back his side to chase two days after they did so successfully after being faced with a record 349-run target.

On a blisteringly hot day, and with a track that looks like it will produce a high-scoring contest once more, Pakistan make one change, with Asif Ali replacing Saud Shakeel. Australia made one change to the side, too, bringing in extra seamer Jason Behrendorff to replace legspinner Mitchell Swepson. In the first two games, the visitors opted to open the bowling with Cameron Green alongside Sean Abbott, but a specialist new-ball bowler’s inclusion means it’s likely that Behrendorff will play that role instead of Green.

Pakistan: 1 Fakhar Zaman, 2 Imam-ul-Haq, 3 Babar Azam (capt), 4 Mohammad Rizwan (wk), 5 Iftikhar Ahmed, 6 Khushdil Shah, 7 Asif Ali, 8 Shaheen Afridi, 9 Mohammad Wasim, 10 Haris Rauf, 11 Zahid Mahmood
Australia: 1 Aaron Finch (capt), 2 Travis Head, 3 Ben McDermott, 4 Marnus Labuschagne, 5 Marcus Stoinis, 6 Cameron Green, 7 Alex Carey (wk), 8 Sean Abbott, 9 Jason Behrendorff, 10 Nathan Ellis, 11 Adam Zampa

Danyal Rasool is a sub-editor at ESPNcricinfo. @Danny61000

Leave a Reply