Recent Match Report – AUS Women vs WI Women 1st Semi Final 2021/22

Recent Match Report - AUS Women vs WI Women 1st Semi Final 2021/22

The match has been shortened to a 45-overs-a-side contest because of a rain-delayed start in misty Wellington

Toss West Indies Women chose to bowl vs Australia Women

West Indies won the toss and sent Australia in to bat in a World Cup semi-final reduced to 45 overs per side because of a rain-delayed start in Wellington.

Australia, unbeaten throughout the tournament, are without Ellyse Perry, who hasn’t recovered in time from the back spasms which kept her out of their last group-stage game against Bangladesh. Annabel Sutherland, who played in that match will hold her place with Australia naming an unchanged side.
For West Indies, legspinner Afy Fletcher will miss the game after testing positive for Covid-19 on Tuesday. She will be replaced in the playing XI by offspinner Anisa Mohammed.

Play was set to begin in misty conditions after light but persistent drizzle over Basin Reserve delayed the start by an hour and 45 minutes.

Stafanie Taylor, captain of a West Indies side which made it into the knockout stages after India’s last-ball defeat to South Africa in their final group game, said the decision to bowl first was easy, given the conditions. “The pitch has been covered for quite a while and there’s a bit of rain around so we’ll have a bowl first,” she said.

Her opposite number, Meg Lanning said: “It’s a new wicket, there will be a little bit in it early, as we expect, but we’re looking forward to the challenge. Semi-finals are always difficult to win, coming up against a West Indies team who are very dangerous so we’re excited about the challenge and looking forward to it.”

The winner will play either England or South Africa, who face off in the second semi-final in Christchurch on Thursday, in Sunday’s title decider, which will also be played at Hagley Oval.

West Indies: Deandra Dottin, Rashada Williams, Hayley Matthews, Stafanie Taylor (capt), Shemaine Campbelle (wk), Chedean Nation, Kycia Knight, Chinelle Henry, Anisa Mohammed, Karishman Ramharack, Shamilia Connell

Australia: Alyssa Healy (wk), Rachael Haynes, Meg Lanning (capt), Beth Mooney, Tahlia McGrath, Annabel Sutherland, Ashleigh Gardner, Jess Jonassen, Alana King, Megan Schutt, Darcie Brown

Valkerie Baynes is a general editor at ESPNcricinfo

Leave a Reply