Nineteen Zimbabwe women offered central contracts for 2022-23

Under-19 World Cup 2022 - Four Zimbabwe U-19 players test positive for Covid-19


div id=””>

Zimbabwe Cricket (ZC) has announced central contracts for 19 women players for the 2022-23 season. Zimbabwe captain Mary-Anne Musonda, deputy Josephine Nkomo and Chipo Mugeri-Tiripano were named in the Grade A+ category.
“As part of our commitment to the growth and development of our women’s game, we are pleased to confirm the awarding of central contracts to a talented group of 19 players,” Hamilton Masakadza, ZC director of cricket, said. “We believe this will not only boost the morale of our players but will also allow them to fully focus on their game ahead of a crucial period for our national team, which includes participation at the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup Qualifier 2022 to be held in the United Arab Emirates in September.”

Central contract list:
Grade A+: Mary-Anne Musonda, Josephine Nkomo, Chipo Mugeri-Tiripano

Grade A: Precious Marange, Modester Mupachikwa, Sharne Mayers

Grade B: Nomvelo Sibanda, Loreen Tshuma

Grade C: Esther Mbofana, Loryn Phiri, Pellagia Mujaji, Audrey Mazvishaya, Christabel Chatonzwa, Nyasha Gwanzura, Ashley Ndiraya, Nomatter Mutasa, Chiedza Dhururu, Francisca Chipare, Tasmeen Granger

Nkomo, Mupachikwa in squad for T20 World Cup Qualifier
ZC also announced a 15-member squad for the T20 World Cup Qualifier in the UAE from September 18 to 25.

Josephine Nkomo and Mupachikwa, who both missed an 18-day training camp in India in July due to their commitments to club cricket in England, were included in the squad. Musonda will lead the side.

Zimbabwe’s next assignment is a tour to South Africa for five T20Is from August 28 to September 3 as a part of their preparation for the T20 World Cup Qualifier. They will then travel to the UAE on September 7 for a quadrangular series against Thailand Women, the USA and the hosts.

Zimbabwe are in Group B in the T20 World Cup qualifier, along with Thailand, Papua New Guinea and UAE. Group A comprises Bangladesh, Ireland, Scotland and the USA Women.

The two teams that advance to the final will qualify for the T20 World Cup 2023 which will be held in South Africa next February.

Squad Mary-Anne Musonda (captain), Modester Mupachikwa, Kelis Ndhlovu, Sharne Mayers, Josephine Nkomo, Precious Marange, Christabel Chatonzwa, Loreen Tshuma, Loryn Phiri, Nomvelo Sibanda, Esther Mbofana, Pellagia Mujaji, Audrey Mazvishaya, Chipo Mugeri-Tiripano, Francisca Chipare

Leave a Reply