Bangladesh pick Rony Talukdar after eight years for T20Is against England

Bangladesh pick Rony Talukdar after eight years for T20Is against England
Bangladesh have made five changes to their T20I squad for the first two matches against England later this month. Rony Talukdar returns to the set-up after eight years, Shamim Hossain makes comeback after a two-year absence, while Towhid Hridoy, Rejaur Rahman and Tanvir Islam have received their maiden call-ups to Bangladesh’s T20I squad.

All five new inclusions did well in this season’s Bangladesh Premier League. Talukdar’s only international was a T20I against South Africa in 2015, but he was the second highest run-getter in this year’s BPL – 425 at a strike-rate of 129.17 – and he helped Rangpur Riders make it to the second qualifier. Towhid, who made the ODI squad after scoring 403 runs at a strike-rate of 140 in the BPL, was the tournament’s third highest run-getter.

Shamim made only 175 runs with a strike rate of 135.65, but his 71 for Riders in the BPL eliminator helped him earn a recall. Shamim was long considered a future T20 hitter for Bangladesh and the selectors have showed a little more patience with him this time.

Left-arm spinner Tanvir was the joint highest wicket-taker in the BPL; his 17 wickets at an average of 17.58 helped Comilla Victorians win their fourth BPL title. Rejaur took 13 wickets at 19.84 apiece.

Yasir Ali, Ebadot Hossain, Mosaddek Hossain, Shoriful Islam and Soumya Sarkar, who were all part of the squad for the T20 World Cup in Australia last year, were left out of the T20I squad. Yasir, Mosaddek and Soumya didn’t make major contributions in the BPL, while Ebadot and Shoriful didn’t play enough in the tournament to merit selection.
After the ongoing ODI series, Bangladesh play three T20Is against England in Chattogram ( March 9) and Mirpur (March 12 and 14).

Bangladesh squad for first two T20Is vs England Shakib Al Hasan (capt), Litton Das, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Afif Hossain, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Mustafizur Rahman, Taskin Ahmed, Hasan Mahmud, Nasum Ahmed, Nurul Hasan, Shamim Hossain, Rony Talukdar, Towhid Hridoy, Rejaur Rahman, Tanvir Islam

Leave a Reply